Chakras & Coresponding Crystals

Every living being, including the Universe, has spinning vortices of energy called chakras. We have hundreds of chakras in and around us. But there are seven main intersecting currents of energy that reside in and travel from the base of our spine to a few inches above our head. These wheels of energy assist in the running of our body, mind and soul. If a chakra is not performing correctly, it can affect our physical health, mental health and our spiritual self.

A chronic avoidance of certain energies produces a deficiently closed chakra. A chronic fixation results in an excessively open chakra. Chakra dysfunction at any level will create an imbalanced condition in the entire system, resulting in uncomfortable symptoms. Clearing these energy centers with crystals can emphatically help you heal these symptoms by bringing the body back into balance. The following description provides more detail about the seven chakras and their Sanskrit names:


Muladhara, or (1st) Root Chakra

The Root chakra is located at the base of the spine. It relates to our most basic survival needs and our sense of belonging. When this chakra is clear and energy flows through it freely, we feel secure and confident that we can easily fulfill our needs. On the other hand, a blockage in this area can cause us to feel fatigued, anxious, worried and ungrounded. 

The colors that resonate with the muladhara chakra are red and black. The element is Earth. Crystals that balance the root chakra are: black onyx, black obsidian, snowflake obsidian, shungite, red tiger’s eye, red jasper, hematite, carnelian, red garnet, smoky quartz, eudialyte, crazy lace agate, pietersite, fossil jasper, red creek jasper, red dream agate, picasso jasper, rainforest agate and picture jasper. An optional mantra (while resting on the ground holding or wearing a base chakra crystal) is, "I exist. I am safe. I live with ease.”

Svadhisthana, or (2nd) Sacral Chakra

The Sacral chakra resides in reproductive area two inches below the navel. It is associated with creativity (birth or new aspects of ourselves, projects and ideas). When open and flowing, it governs our sexuality, creativity and thought. When this chakra becomes congested, we may experience a block in our creative powers and a sense of dryness or emptiness. 

The color that resonates with the svadhisthana chakra is orange. The element is Water. Crystals that bring the sacral chakra into alignment are: sunstone, orange calcite, orange adventurine, carnelian, moonstone, coral, citrine, crazy lace agate and red dream agate. An optional mantra (while sitting near a fountain or body of water, holding or wearing a sacral chakra crystal) is, “I desire. I create with passion.”                                              

Manipura, or (3rd) Solar Plexus

The Solar Plexus chakra is located at the base of the rib cage. It governs our will, confidence, self-esteem and sense of personal power. When energy flows freely through this center, we’re confident about our abilities. When the third chakra is blocked, however, we feel powerless and frustrated. Digestive problems are also associated with the Solar Plexus chakra. 

The color that resonates with the manipura chakra is yellow. The element is Fire. Crystals that ba lance the solar plexus are: citrine, calcite, yellow topaz, yellow tiger’s eye, gold tigers’s eye, crazy lace agate, pietersite and yellow leopard skin jasper. An optional mantra (while meditating next to a candle or bonfire, holding or wearing a solar plexus crystal) is, “I control. I design my destiny.”                                          

Anahata, or (4th) Heart Chakra

The Heart chakra is located in the center of the chest. It relates to compassion and love. When this chakra is flowing and open, we feel deeply connected to everyone in our life. But when it’s obstructed, we experience fear of intimacy, loneliness, possible jealousy, poor boundaries, and alienation. 

Colors that resonate with the anahata chakra are green and pink. The element is Air. Crystals that balance the heart chakra are: rose quartz, rhodonite, rhodochrosite, malachite, green adventurine, jade, green rutilated quartz, green tourmaline, pink tourmaline, rubellite, kunzite, turquoise, moss agate, pink opal, charoite, morganite, mangano calcite, green moonstone and rainforest agate. An optional mantra (while meditating outside in fresh air, holding or wearing a heart chakra crystal) is, “I love. I deeply love myself and others.”

Vishuddha, or (5th) Throat Chakra

The Throat chakra is located in the throat area. It relates to communication, expression, and the ability to speak our truth. When our center of communication is clear, we’re able to express our truth without worrying about what others think. In contrast, with a congested fifth chakra, we feel anxious about how other people will react to our views and are likely to censor ourselves. 

The color that resonates with the vishuddha chakra is light blue. The element is the Sky. Crystals that bring this chakra into balance are: sodalite, amazonite, blue lace agate, aquamarine, lapis lazuli, apatite and labradorite. An optional mantra (while outside under a bright blue sky, holding or wearing a throat chakra crystal) is, “I express. I freely speak my truth.”                                         

Ajna, or (6th) Third Eye Chakra

The Third Eye chakra is located on the forehead between the eyes. It’s the center of insight where we integrate all the information and intuition in our life. When it is open and clear, we feel deeply connected to our inner wisdom and trust that it guides us in our choices. When energy isn’t flowing easily through this chakra, we feel depression and a sense of self-doubt and distrust. 

The color that resonates with the ajna chakra is indigo blue. The element is Light. Crystals that bring the third eye chakra into alignment are: blue tourmaline, lapis lazuli, turquoise, flourite, azurite, pietersite, silver sheen obsidian, amethyst and labradorite. An optional mantra (while visualizing light glowing from inside the body, holding or wear an ajna crystal) is, “I witness. I listen to my inner guidance.”                                          

Sahaswara, or (7th) Crown Chakra

The Crown chakra resides at the crown of the head. It connects us to higher consciousness and Divine wisdom. It is the focus of our insight, visions, psychic awareness, clairvoyance and ability to sense subtle energy fields. When energy isn't flowing through the crown chakra properly we have difficulty sleeping, ridged beliefs, headaches, worry, cognitive problems and a feeling of being disconnected from the body. 

The colors that resonate with the sahaswara chakra are violet-purple and white. The element that connects to the crown is thought / universal consciousness / enlightenment. Crystals that bring this chakra into alignment are: moonstone, amethyst, howlite, magnesite, charoite, selenite, clear quartz and purple tourmaline. An optional mantra (while connecting to Source energy, holding or wearing a crown chakra crystal) is, “I am. I am connected to all that IS.”

©2016 Sacred Health Jewelry. All rights reserved. All product photos, designs, descriptions and blog articles may not be copied or duplicated without written permission.